Elmer

An amateur radio license is a license to learn. Look here for information about upcoming license classes and specialized training. 

SVRC license classes

Date: 
Mon, 09/24/2018 - 6:00pm
Mon, 10/01/2018 - 6:00pm
Mon, 10/08/2018 - 6:00pm
Mon, 10/15/2018 - 6:00pm
Mon, 10/22/2018 - 6:00pm
Mon, 10/29/2018 - 6:00pm
Mon, 11/05/2018 - 6:00pm
Location: 
Red Cross Building, 1045 Outer Park Drive, Springfield, IL 3rd floor
Description: 

These are license study classes for ham radio licensing.

SVRC Fall License Classes

SVRC license classes are getting started at 6:00 p.m. in room 330 at the Red Cross building, 1045 Outer Park Drive in Springfield.

There will be classes for Technician and General licenses with the possibility of an Extra class study group.

There will be an exam session at the end of the classes.

We use the Gordon West books which are available from a variety of sources including Amazon. Be sure to get the current version for the class of license you are studying for.

Modes, Modes, and More Modes

Modes, Modes, and More Modes

MODES, MODES, AND MORE MODES

Modes. There's a word you run across all the time in amateur radio.  What exactly do we mean by mode?  Well, the answer is: it depends on the context in which it's used.  There's modulation modes, operating modes, digital communication modes, and all kinds of other flavors of mode.  K9ZXO takes a stab at explaining some of the possible uses of the word in this five minute "mini-lesson".

Watch it here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AvpV4kZpgJw

W9DUA Station Open Hours

Date: 
Sat, 04/14/2018 - 1:00pm to 4:00pm
Sat, 05/12/2018 - 1:00pm to 4:00pm
Sat, 06/09/2018 - 1:00pm to 4:00pm
Sat, 07/14/2018 - 1:00pm to 4:00pm
Sat, 08/11/2018 - 1:00pm to 4:00pm
Sat, 09/08/2018 - 1:00pm to 4:00pm
Sat, 10/13/2018 - 1:00pm to 4:00pm
Sat, 11/10/2018 - 1:00pm to 4:00pm
Sat, 12/08/2018 - 1:00pm to 4:00pm
Location: 
1045 Outer Park Drive
Description: 

Open Hours for operation of W9DUA.  

When: Saturdays 1:00pm - 4:00pm or until boredom sets in;

Where: 1045 Outer Park Drive in the SVRC Meeting  Room;

What: Operate the club station;

How: We will monitor the 443.000 repeater in analog mode and also 146.520. This will give you the ability to check if we are still there.  It will also allow us to come down and let you in if the door to the building gets locked;

License Class

Date: 
Mon, 01/29/2018 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm
Mon, 02/05/2018 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm
Mon, 02/12/2018 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm
Mon, 02/19/2018 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm
Mon, 02/26/2018 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm
Mon, 03/05/2018 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm
Mon, 03/12/2018 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm
Mon, 03/19/2018 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm
Location: 
The American Red Cross Building, 3rd floor at 1045 Outer Park Dr. Springfield
Description: 

Get your ham radio license or upgrade to a higher Class! No charge for the class. We suggest you purchase the Gordon West Technician Amateur Radio Preparation study guide (2014-2018, Amazon, Ham Radio Outlet), or appropriate study guide for General or Extra class. 

Register Here. 

License Exam

Date: 
Sat, 02/10/2018 - 9:00am to 11:00am
Sat, 04/14/2018 - 9:00am to 11:00am
Sat, 06/09/2018 - 9:00am to 11:00am
Sat, 08/11/2018 - 9:00am to 11:00am
Sat, 10/13/2018 - 9:00am to 11:00am
Sat, 12/08/2018 - 9:00am to 11:00am
Location: 
1045 Outer Park Dr, Springfield, IL 62704
Description: 

This is the SVRC VE Team Testing session.  Walk-ins are welcome although pre-registrations are appreciated.  

W9DUA Station Open Hours

Date: 
Mon, 04/02/2018 - 10:00am to 1:00pm
Mon, 04/09/2018 - 10:00am to 1:00pm
Mon, 04/16/2018 - 10:00am to 1:00pm
Mon, 04/23/2018 - 10:00am to 1:00pm
Mon, 04/30/2018 - 10:00am to 1:00pm
Mon, 05/07/2018 - 10:00am to 1:00pm
Mon, 05/14/2018 - 10:00am to 1:00pm
Mon, 05/21/2018 - 10:00am to 1:00pm
Mon, 05/28/2018 - 10:00am to 1:00pm
Mon, 06/04/2018 - 10:00am to 1:00pm
Mon, 06/11/2018 - 10:00am to 1:00pm
Mon, 06/18/2018 - 10:00am to 1:00pm
Mon, 06/25/2018 - 10:00am to 1:00pm
Mon, 07/02/2018 - 10:00am to 1:00pm
Mon, 07/09/2018 - 10:00am to 1:00pm
Mon, 07/16/2018 - 10:00am to 1:00pm
Mon, 07/23/2018 - 10:00am to 1:00pm
Mon, 07/30/2018 - 10:00am to 1:00pm
Mon, 08/06/2018 - 10:00am to 1:00pm
Mon, 08/13/2018 - 10:00am to 1:00pm
Mon, 08/20/2018 - 10:00am to 1:00pm
Mon, 08/27/2018 - 10:00am to 1:00pm
Mon, 09/03/2018 - 10:00am to 1:00pm
Mon, 09/10/2018 - 10:00am to 1:00pm
Mon, 09/17/2018 - 10:00am to 1:00pm
Mon, 09/24/2018 - 10:00am to 1:00pm
Mon, 10/01/2018 - 10:00am to 1:00pm
Mon, 10/08/2018 - 10:00am to 1:00pm
Mon, 10/15/2018 - 10:00am to 1:00pm
Mon, 10/22/2018 - 10:00am to 1:00pm
Mon, 10/29/2018 - 10:00am to 1:00pm
Mon, 11/05/2018 - 10:00am to 1:00pm
Mon, 11/12/2018 - 10:00am to 1:00pm
Mon, 11/19/2018 - 10:00am to 1:00pm
Mon, 11/26/2018 - 10:00am to 1:00pm
Mon, 12/03/2018 - 10:00am to 1:00pm
Mon, 12/10/2018 - 10:00am to 1:00pm
Mon, 12/17/2018 - 10:00am to 1:00pm
Location: 
1045 Outer Park Drive
Description: 

Open Hours for operation of W9DUA.  

When: Mondays 10:00am - 1:00pm or until boredom sets in;

Where: 1045 Outer Park Drive in the SVRC Meeting  Room;

What: Get technical advice, operate the club station;

How: We will monitor the 443.000 repeater in analog mode and also 146.520. This will give you the ability to check if we are still there.  It will also allow us to come down and let you in if the door to the building gets locked;

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Elmer

Join Sangamon Valley Radio Club

Support SVRC by joining today.

Join Now