Social

In Person

Nothing is better than meeting a new face or seeing a old friend. I find myself saying "Oh that's your call sign. Great to put a face with the call!" We socialize at our meetings, open hours, and other events throughout the year.

Online

The SVRC maintains several forms of social media to enable members to socialize electronically. This page is to help members/potential members find these groups. All of these are subject to the SVRC Social Media Guidelines

Email Group

We maintain an email group/reflector on groups.io(migrated from Yahoo groups). 


Facebook Group

We maintain a Facebook group

Early Club Open

Date: 
Thu, 04/05/2018 - 6:00pm to 7:00pm
Thu, 05/03/2018 - 6:00pm to 7:00pm
Thu, 06/07/2018 - 6:00pm to 7:00pm
Thu, 07/05/2018 - 6:00pm to 7:00pm
Thu, 08/02/2018 - 6:00pm to 7:00pm
Thu, 09/06/2018 - 6:00pm to 7:00pm
Thu, 10/04/2018 - 6:00pm to 7:00pm
Thu, 11/01/2018 - 6:00pm to 7:00pm
Thu, 12/06/2018 - 6:00pm to 7:00pm
Location: 
The American Red Cross Building, 3rd floor at 1045 Outer Park Dr. Springfield
Description: 

The Club room opens early and can provide extra time for members to catch up, share projects or socialize.  Regular meeting/program starts at 7pm. 

Weekly Lunch

Date: 
Thu, 05/21/2020 - 11:00am
Thu, 05/28/2020 - 11:00am
Thu, 06/04/2020 - 11:00am
Thu, 06/11/2020 - 11:00am
Thu, 06/18/2020 - 11:00am
Thu, 06/25/2020 - 11:00am
Thu, 07/02/2020 - 11:00am
Thu, 07/09/2020 - 11:00am
Thu, 07/16/2020 - 11:00am
Thu, 07/23/2020 - 11:00am
Thu, 07/30/2020 - 11:00am
Thu, 08/06/2020 - 11:00am
Thu, 08/13/2020 - 11:00am
Thu, 08/20/2020 - 11:00am
Thu, 08/27/2020 - 11:00am
Thu, 09/03/2020 - 11:00am
Thu, 09/10/2020 - 11:00am
Thu, 09/17/2020 - 11:00am
Thu, 09/24/2020 - 11:00am
Thu, 10/01/2020 - 11:00am
Thu, 10/08/2020 - 11:00am
Thu, 10/15/2020 - 11:00am
Thu, 10/22/2020 - 11:00am
Thu, 10/29/2020 - 11:00am
Thu, 11/05/2020 - 11:00am
Thu, 11/12/2020 - 11:00am
Thu, 11/19/2020 - 11:00am
Thu, 11/26/2020 - 11:00am
Thu, 12/03/2020 - 11:00am
Thu, 12/10/2020 - 11:00am
Thu, 12/17/2020 - 11:00am
Thu, 12/24/2020 - 11:00am
Thu, 12/31/2020 - 11:00am
Location: 
Xochimilco, 3210 Northfield Dr, Springfield, IL 62702
Description: 

Lunch at Xochimilco to provide a chance for members to discuss the fun they are having on the air and socialize.  Look forward to seeing you there! 

SVRC 70th Anniversary Dinner

Ben K9IDQ

 

On March 3, 2018, the Sangamon Valley Radio Club celebrated its 70th anniversary with dinner and a featured speaker. The even was held at Poe's on the Hill in Sherman, Illinois. Our guest speaker was noted radio and news broadcaster and amateur radio operator, Ben Kiningham. Ben spoke about the long history of the SVRC and entertained us with many pictures and anecdotes from the 1950s and 60s. A good time was had by all.
Watch it here: 
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RaXtL91jOjQ

70th Anniversary Dinner Announced

The details for the 70th Anniversary have been decided and the 70th Anniversary Dinner is quickly approaching. I wanted to share a few details about the dinner with you. This year's dinner will be a semi formal event. Tickets are on sale at the board meetings, club meeting, open hours or through treasurer@svrc.org. Tickets will be on sale until February 26,2018.

When: March 3, 2018 5:30pm
Where: Poe's on the Hill
Program: From Then to Now 70yr of the SVRC
Presented by: Ben Kinningham
Price: $25 per person

Field Day 2018

Date: 
Sat, 06/23/2018 - 9:00am to Sun, 06/24/2018 - 1:00pm
Location: 
Riverton Middle School 1014 E Lincoln St, Riverton, IL 62561
Description: 

Field Day is just around the corner June 23, 0900 to start setting up and start operating at 1300 through June 24,1300 but if you haven't signed up there's still time for you to get in on the fun and experience of operating in the "field" at Riverton Middle School. This is a ARRL sponsored event that hams and ham clubs all over the country participate in. If you haven't done so, contact SVRC Field Day co-chair Ron Bakunas, KC9TEP.
A great field day is being planned, we're having several operating stations for those who want to test their radio skills and more!

December Club Meeting

Date: 
Thu, 12/06/2018 - 7:00pm to 8:30pm
Location: 
The American Red Cross Building, 3rd floor at 1045 Outer Park Dr. Springfield
Description: 

Annual Meeting & Elections

Each month's meeting includes a presentation related to ham radio.

The general public is welcome to attend as well as area ham operators and SVRC club members.

November Club Meeting

Date: 
Thu, 11/01/2018 - 7:00pm to 8:30pm
Location: 
The American Red Cross Building, 3rd floor at 1045 Outer Park Dr. Springfield
Description: 

A Ham's Experience in Puerto Rico after Hurricane Maria, Presented by Tim Moloney, N9RRM, Tim discusses his experience deploying to Puerto Rico as a volunteer Ham Radio Operator.

Social hour at 6:00 pm, meeting/presentation at 7:00 pm

The general public is welcome to attend as well as area ham operators and SVRC club members.

October Club Meeting

Date: 
Thu, 10/04/2018 - 7:00pm to 8:30pm
Location: 
The American Red Cross Building, 3rd floor at 1045 Outer Park Dr. Springfield
Description: 

QSL Card Checking and Awards, Presented by Skip Riba, WS9V. Skip is a DXCC Card Checker for the ARRL Central Division and will talk about about the process, requirements and various awards.

Social hour at 6:00 pm, meeting/presentation at 7:00 pm

The general public is welcome to attend as well as area ham operators and SVRC club members.

September Club Meeting

Date: 
Thu, 09/06/2018 - 7:00pm to 8:30pm
Location: 
The American Red Cross Building, 3rd floor at 1045 Outer Park Dr. Springfield
Description: 

Hospital Ship HOPE, Presentation by Roger Whitaker, K9LJB. Roger discusses his adventures as a ham radio operator on a hospital ship in 1969.

Social hour at 6:00 pm, meeting/presentation at 7:00 pm.

The general public is welcome to attend as well as area ham operators and SVRC club members.

August Club Meeting

Date: 
Thu, 08/02/2018 - 7:00pm to 8:30pm
Location: 
The American Red Cross Building, 3rd floor at 1045 Outer Park Dr. Springfield
Description: 

Special Event StationsPresented by David Bruce, AB9YG, Todd Johnson, KD9BNQ, and Dwayne Terry, KA9KQH. 

Social hour at 6:00 pm, meeting/presentation at 7:00 pm.

The general public is welcome to attend as well as area ham operators and SVRC club members.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Social

Join Sangamon Valley Radio Club

Support SVRC by joining today.

Join Now